Zevon/Belushi

Second post. I have no idea what I’m doing but I am attempting to sound intelligent while doing it.

So… today marks the birthdays of two deceased guys I like a lot: Warren Zevon and John Belushi. A lot of people I like, even love, are no longer with us. I guess that’s the price I pay for only liking old things (music, movies, TV shows, etc.). You know what? I accept that, and I am okay with it.

I didn’t get into listening to Warren Zevon until years after his death. Although best known for his hit “Werewolves of London”, my personal favorite songs of his are “Lawyers, Guns, and Money” and of course, “My Shit’s Fucked Up”. Zevon was a collaborator and friend of Jackson Browne (although I have always considered Zevon to be the superior songwriter).

Image result for warren zevon

Warren Zevon

This actually provides a convenient segue, because I was just watching an old Saturday Night Live episode a couple of nights ago, and Jackson Browne was actually the musical guest (total coincidence; I came across the episode when searching for the old Franken/Davis sketches). The episode was from 1977, so of course John Belushi was one of the featured “Not Ready For Prime Time Players”.

Image result for john belushi

John Belushi

I have always liked John Belushi, and felt affected by his death even though he died in 1982, a few years before my birth. But that very sad photo of Bill Murray standing next to his coffin still gives me chills:

Photo credit: Unknown (darn internet!)

I do not care for contemporary SNL, but I LOVE the episodes from 70s (I’m sure I’ll write a separate post about that at some point) and Belushi was critical to the early success of the show. Greek diner, anyone? Samurai deli? BLUES BROTHERS?! Good shit stuff.

So… these two men were and are culturally important, and important to me personally. You should check them out.

~GCL~

Leave a Reply

